CampOne of the strengths of our curriculum is the large number and diverse options of subspecialty rotations. On average residents have three to four subspecialty experiences per year. Some core experiences are provided to all the residents (e.g., Cardiology) and the rest are suited to their own interests and career goals. The resident’s faculty advisor and the program director aid in this process in order to ensure compliance with guidelines set by the ACGME, both with additional subspecialty experiences and the residents’ six months of individualization. Subspecialty time usually includes both inpatient and outpatient responsibilities. Subspecialty experiences are split into three tiers with residents having to complete a total of seven experiences during residency. Of those, residents complete a minimum of four different one-month block rotations from tier one (core rotations). After completing tier one, residents then finish the additional three months from a single subspecialty (from tier 1 or 2) or from a combination (from tier 1 or 2) of subspecialties. Tier three is only available for third year residents who have successfully completed their four core (tier one) electives.

Tier One (Core Electives)

  • Allergy and Immunology
  • Cardiology
  • Child Abuse
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Hematology-Oncology
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Medical Genetics
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Pulmonary
  • Rheumatology

Tier Two

  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Hospice and Palliative Medicine
  • Neurodevelopmental Disabilites
  • Pediatric Anesthesiology
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Pediatric Ophthalmology
  • Pediatric Orthopedic Surgery
  • Pediatric Otolaryngology
  • Pediatric Radiology
  • Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Sleep Medicine
  • Sports Medicine

Tier Three

  • Transition to Practice
  • Breastfeeding Medicine
  • Hospitalist Medicine
  • Research

Core electives (tier one) as designated by the Pediatric Resident Review Committee of the ACGME. A minimum of four core electives is required to be eligible to take the American Board of Pediatrics Examination.