Douglas J. Barrett, MD Academic Fellowship Award

Douglas J. Barrett

Douglas J. Barrett, MD

This award is named in honor of Douglas J. Barrett, MD. Dr. Barrett was chairman of the Department of Pediatrics from 1991 to 2002. During his tenure, he mentored 208 pediatric residents and 84 pediatric subspecialty fellows. The residents under his tutelage consistently scored above the national average on their board certifying exams. The department received three “Golden Apple” awards over a six-year period as the best teaching department in the College of Medicine. In addition, the department attracted UF students into a career in pediatrics at twice the national rate.

In clinical care, Dr. Barrett is noted for establishing Shands Children’s Hospital in 1996 as a hospital within a hospital, a Children’s Specialty Center at Shands Medical Plaza, and a new Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. During that time, children’s services accomplished numerous “Florida Firsts” including nitric oxide therapy for respiratory failure, umbilical cord stem cell transplant, pediatric lung and heart/lung transplantation, gene therapy for cystic fibrosis, and pulmonary valvuloplasty in <1000 gm premature infants.

In the area of research, Dr. Barrett increased by tenfold the amount of nationally competitive NIH funding received by the department, including world-class research programs in AIDS/HIV, epilepsy/seizure prediction, Type I Diabetes, gene therapy for heart failure and lung disease, nerve cell tumors and genetic obesity syndromes. Research increased to 50 percent the proportion of the total department budget covered by extramural research grants, and the faculty received UF College of Medicine Clinical Sciences Faculty Research Awards three times.

In March 2002, Dr. Barrett was named the Vice President of the University of Florida Health Affairs, a position in which he served until 2009.

Grant funding was established through the Children’s Miracle Network for the Douglas J. Barrett Academic Fellowship Award to support clinical fellows in training in pediatric medical or surgical subspecialties. The Douglas J. Barrett Academic Fellowship Award recipients are chosen for their work displaying the highest qualities of scholarly activity in research, teaching and patient care.

Award Recipients

2018                 Matthew Pertzborn, MD

2017                 Kristin Dayton, MD

2016                 Matthew Cascio, D.O.

2014                 Gabriel M. Cara-Fuentes, MD

2013                 Dipankar Gupta, MD

2012                 Darin J. Falk, PhD

2011                 Mai K. ElMallah, MD, Eihab Al Khasawneh, MD

2010                 Katherine E. McGoogan, MD

2009                 Lisa M. Gallo, MD, Sushil Gupta, MD

2008                 Dwayne D. Henry, MD, Angela E. Rivers, MD, PhD, Kevin P. Schooler, MD, PhD

2007                 Jai P. Udassi, MD, James L. Wynn, MD

2006                 Levette N. Dunbar, MD, Nathan M. Jesse, MD, Avital Leibovici, MD

2005                 Faris Al-Mousily, MD, Rachel E. Brown, MD, K. Alex Daneshmand, DO, Michael S. Stalvey, MD

2004                 Michael J. Haller, MD, Allah B. Haafiz, MD, Daniel M. Torrez, MD

2003                 Jennifer L. Miller, MD, Matthew A. Saxonhouse, MD, Hilton M. Bernstein, MD