Henry A. Kokomoor Award

This award was established by the family and friends of Henry A. Kokomoor to honor his memory. It is given to an individual who epitomizes the qualities and aspirations of Henry Kokomoor, the late son of Dr. Marvin Kokomoor. Henry was tragically killed in a motor vehicle accident at the height of his career.  He was a brilliant scholar with an impeccable set of ethics and morals. He had tremendous sensitivity and was endowed with tremendous innovativeness and great vision.

Each year, this award is given to an individual who is committed to scientific discovery that will aid us in our overall efforts to improve child health within this nation. An emphasis is placed on creativity, diligence of effort and dedication.

Award Recipients

2018                 Diana Montoya-Williams, MD

2017                 Laura Jacobson, M.D.

2016                 Moanaro Biswas, Ph.D.

2015                 Gabriel M. Cara Fuentes, M.D.

2014                 Atul Poudel, M.D.

2013                 David M. Markusic, Ph.D.

2012                 Mai K. ElMallah, M.D.

2011                 Rachel E. Garner, M.D., Ashley T. Martino, Ph.D.

2010                 Lisa M. Gallo (Knight), M.D., Brad E. Hoffman, Ph.D.

2009                 Martha V. Douglas-Escobar, M.D.

2008                 James L. Wynn, M.D.

2007                 Nathan M. Jesse, M.D., Carlos E. Araya, M.D.

2006                 Michael S. Stalvey, M.D., Ricardo A. Caicedo, M.D.

2005                 Michael J. Haller, M.D.

2004                 Jennifer L. Miller, M.D., Matthew A. Saxonhouse, M.D.

2003                 Alba E. Morales, M.D.

2002                 Carolyn T. Spencer, M.D.

2001                 Isabel Virella-Lowell, M.D.

2000                 Martha C. Sola-Visner, M.D.

1999                 Lindo Terry Spencer, M.D.

1998                 Kevin J. Sullivan M.D., Dean Theophilopoulos, M.D.

1997                 Darlene Calhoun, D.O., Jane Wing-Sang Fang, M.D.

1996                 Mary Pat Francisco, M.D.

1995                 Kishor Avasarala, M.D.

1994                 Daniel L. Sandler, M.D., Regino P. Gonzalez-Peralta, M.D.

1993                 Susan F. Massengill, M.D.

1992                 Deogracias R. Pena, M.D.

1991                 Terry O. Harville, M.D.

1990                 John R. Edwards, M.D., Eric S. Sandler, M.D.

1989                 Gerard Holmes, M.D.

1988                 Gary A. Visner, D.O.

1987                 Desmond A. Schatz, M.D.

1986                 John W. Sleasman, M.D.

1985                 Mary Virginia Wagner, M.D.

1984                 Ronald J. Kanter, M.D., Derrel W. Clarke, M.D.

1983                 Hanes M. Swingle, M.D., William E. Winter, M.D.

1982                 John K. Orak, M.D., Ernest A. Kiel, M.D.

1981                 Becky Williams Rogers, M.D.

1980                 Peter D. Reuman, M.D.

1979                 William B. Blanchard, M.D.

1978                 Michelle M. Cloutier, M.D.